Presenting at ICNAP in May

I am delighted to share that my submission to the Interdisciplinary Coalition of North American Phenomenologists (ICNAP) V has been accepted. This year’s conference theme is “Understanding Embodiment”. I will be presenting on this panel with several of my Fielding colleagues on Transformative Phenomenology: Implications for embodied interpretation. Transformative Phenomenology is an application and theory that arises from the work of our Fielding mentors, Valerie Bentz and David Rehorick.

My presentation is entitled Transformative Phenomenology: Implications for embodied interpretation.

Along with my MBM colleague Cliff Smyth, I will also be facilitating experiential work for the conference attendees, and moderating a panel of Saybrook students and graduates who are presenting their work.

The conference will be held this year at Ramapo College in New Jersey, May 24 – 27. If you are in the neighborhood, drop in! Details are at http://www.icnap.org/

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Presenting at ICNAP in May

  1. Luann

    One point keeps coming back to me as I prepare for several conference presentations this spring: handling the critique of my work. I think this is a capacity that we all need in association with our scholarship and research, and one that sort of took me by surprise. I thought I had mastered the Fraud Complex after my first years as a doctoral student. But I was jarred at a recent conference, when a close friend and colleague told me after my talk that I needed to work on growing thicker skin. I knew what she meant: I recalled how I missed some of the commentary on my paper because I was busy justifying what I had already argued. I got attached to the results, and forgot that once I put out my work, it no longer belonged to me.

    I often return to lessons I learned as a massage therapist. As a novice, I saw many of my classmates injured in their first year of practice, and went on a quest to discover the secrets to longevity. One approach I adopted, which has supported more than just my wrists, is to imagine myself as a reed, a conduit for the work that passes through me. I am the vehicle, but I cannot own the outcome.

    Putting aside the benefits of a thicker skin, I hope you all learn to become reeds.

Leave a Reply

